Phoning It In, Yes

7 Dec

Standard Blog Fodder #4: Nick Hornby Style ‘Man-List’ In Which I Show Off My Youthful Eclecticism (Thanks, Stephen)

Most played songs on iPod: Shotgun – Less Than Jake (60), The Bandit – Starlight Mints (42), The Other Side – Pendulum (40), Birthright [Birthwrong Remix by Blue Stahli] – Celldweller (36), A-Punk – Vampire Weekend (31)

Things on desk: Empty can of Magners, stapler that’s never worked, the first mobile I ever bought, a mini-bottle of whisky from a tiny distillery in Scotland that shares my surname, dead microphone, The Whalestoe Letters by Mark Z. Danielewski, the tabs to Joshua Radin’s Winter, uselessly large ball of Blu-Tack, notebook that’s never been written in, similarly virginal disposable camera, Crusaders by Richard T. Kelly

Children’s TV show characters that were goddamned scary: The Snuffleupagus (even though I was too old for Sesame Street by the time he showed up – I saw him on some internet meme macro at about seventeen and I still nearly shit my pants), The Psammead, and that guy from Balamory (too old to watch it, but I saw the intro a few times. In it, we see that the guy in question lives in a pink castle. What more evidence of sociopathy does one need?)

Books being read simultaneously (that is, being left at the side of my bed for months until I finish them all): A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson, A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz, I, Lucifer by Glen Duncan and Sum by David Eagleman. Wow, depressing.

Well, this is boring. Look me up on Formspring and ask questions of me. Any questions you like.

Please?

(Help me out here, Owl.)

2 Responses to “Phoning It In, Yes”

  1. Owl December 13, 2009 at 7:05 am #

    Speaking of books being read simultaneously, I just purchased A Short History of Nearly Everything and I’m a Stranger Here Myself. Thank you for informing me of Bill Bryson’s existence.

    • Jack December 19, 2009 at 12:50 pm #

      You’re welcome. Neither Here Nor There and Notes From a Small Island are great too, if you can find them anywhere.

Leave a Reply

