Das Winterbløg

19 Dec

Here’s my life: it’s six days until Christmas and I haven’t bought any presents yet, I still can’t find a damn job, my uni application is up in the air until January, there’s nothing on telly and the whole city is ass-deep in snow so there’s no chance of going out and getting drunk.
Only one course of action remains:
I must build a terrifying snow legion.
Or move to Fiji. One of those.
Formspring plz?

6 Responses to “Das Winterbløg”

  1. Owl December 19, 2009 at 10:04 pm #

    We’re going to New York on Tuesday!

    • Jack December 20, 2009 at 2:23 am #

      Nice one! I’d give my right arm to visit New York in the winter – I’d throw in a kidney if someone gave me an executive suite at whichever grotesquely expensive hotel they chose. Ah, to be rich. (And partly dissected).
      You’re staying there for Christmas, then?

  2. Owl December 20, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    I can’t even remember the last time I went, so I’m definitely excited! Whenever you get the chance (and the money), you should come visit for like a year. There’s much to see. We’re coming back home on the 27th, so yes, but we don’t celebrate Christmas.

    • Jack December 22, 2009 at 10:30 am #

      If I ever won the lottery, first thing I’d buy (after the obvious stuff: hippo army, golden fridge, Ellen Page) would be an apartment in New York. I am indescribably envious of you – I bet you’re on your way right now, actually. Have a great time and come back with anecdotes!

  3. Owl December 28, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    We actually decided to leave on Monday, so I was there when you posted that comment. Though I do love New York, it is nice to be home now.

    Anecdote 1. On our way up there, a tractor trailer truck was driving beside us that still had a sheet of snow/ice on its roof and as pieces of it started to melt and fall off, a huge piece of ice fell off and hit our windshield and cracked it. So, we started our trip off $200 poorer.

    Anecdote 2. We were visiting family and my mother insisted I dress up (wear heels). Though snow was no longer falling, there was plenty still on the ground. Needless to say, I slipped and fell on my ass. Thanks Mom.

    Anecdote 3. Every time I turned the corner, I saw a Dunkin’ Donuts and a 7-Eleven. If you like coffee, Dunkin’ Donuts is the place to go; Starbucks is overrated. Keep that in mind for when you visit. (This wasn’t really an anecdote.)

    I’m sure there’s plenty more to say, I’ll think of the rest later.

  4. Jack January 10, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Tales of Ye Olde Frozene Englande:

    1. At present, I have no running water because the pipes are frozen from the inside out.

    2. Last night, I walked home from the pub for a distance of two and a half miles in minus 6 degree weather wearing nought but a t-shirt and jeans. No ill effects the next morning, either. I suspect booze may be responsible.

    3. I don’t care if New York is under two feet of snow. I’d still rather be there than here.

    Hope you had a great time in NY!

Leave a Reply

