Aught-Ten and Snowballs

1 Jan

Well now. It’s the dawn of a bright new decade. Aught-nine is over, the Noughties finally gave up the ghost to be pressed in amber and preserved for all time (mostly through Youtube), and nobody knows what the next ten years might bring. Anything could happen. Well, something already happened, and it’s lying all over the country and stopping people from going to the pub. Eight inches of snow today, and it’s due to get even worse at the weekend. Of course, the only solution to this is an epic precipitational conflict, an armed winter revolución, a snowball fight – nay, a snowball massacre – to end all others. Is it wrong to want to have a snowball fight at the age of twenty? Apparently so, since all my friends don’t want to get out of the house today. Of course, that may have something to do with the booze orgy they all participated in last night at various pubs across the land, while I was stuck at home with a stomach bug, and spent the dying hours of 2009 in front of the TV with my parents, my grandma and my auntie and uncle, imploring Jools Holland to stop talking to Boy George for ONE SECOND and let Rodrigo y Gabriela have a look in. Sigh, etc.

Enough of this navel-gazing – what do you want to see in 2010? Is it the future now? Will the flying car eventually make its debut this year? Can we expect telepathy by the end of the decade, and will Bruce Forsyth finally die? All these questions and more shall be answered. By you. Because, you know, I asked them. Comment below, or Formspring if you want to ask me the same questions I asked you just now. (You awkward bastard.)

Happy new year, guys!

5 Responses to “Aught-Ten and Snowballs”

  1. Owl January 23, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I notice you say “booze” a lot. That’s one of my nicknames, so I find it humorous.

    • Jack January 24, 2010 at 12:11 am #

      Your nickname is ‘Booze’? Any… disturbing social proclivities I should know about? (Probably not, but even if there were, I’d be a hypocrite to highlight it, judging by the amount of times that word appears on this blog. The fact that I’m slightly drunk at this very moment is irrelevant. Or totally relevant. One of those.)

  2. Owl January 24, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Well, Booze sounds like Ooze, which is one of my not so original nicknames. My name is Oozma, so maybe knowing that will make those nicknames less random. So, no. No disturbing social proclivities, yet. I’ve never had a drink in my life. I’m not sure if that’s something to be proud of.

    • Jack February 1, 2010 at 2:06 am #

      Stay away from the terrible booze until you absolutely cannot avoid it (i.e, until you go to college or if you move to Jersey Shore at some point). Or stay away from it altogether and be the proud owner of a totally undiluted brain. Of course, there’s an opinion that half the fun of having a brain lies in polluting it. Speaking of mental pollutants, if you ever do go to Jersey Shore, would you do me a huge favour and cripple all the subhuman reality TV contestants that infest the place? You’d have the world’s undying gratitude.

  3. Owl February 1, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    I just find drinking extremely juvenile and unnecessary. Perhaps I’ll change my mind in college. Haha, Jersey Shore. I’ve never seen that show, but it’s sadly what everyone has been constantly talking about. If I ever (God forbid) find myself over there, I will be sure to do that.

Leave a Reply

