Bibliocrastination

19 Feb

Books I started reading and haven’t finished yet because I keep buying more books and not finishing them:

The Catcher in The Rye by J.D. Salinger
Broom of the System by David Foster Wallace
Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
And Then We Came To The End by Joshua Ferris
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
Bad Science by Ben Goldacre
A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz
Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
On the Road by Jack Kerouac
Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets by David Simon
Crusaders by Richard T. Kelly
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami
Brighton Rock by Graham Greene
The End of Mr. Y by Scarlett Thomas
Blood River by Tim Butcher
Behindlings by Nicola Barker
You Shall Know Our Velocity by Dave Eggers (okay, I only bought that one yesterday)

I’m in the process of cleaning out my room for redecoration, and I shifted all my old books out into the garage yesterday. Not only does my bookcase now look depressingly empty, I realised I’ve hardly read a lot of the books in it.

Also my room is a complete dump and I suddenly have the urge to throw out all the crap I don’t use and scrub the little box I live most of my life in from corner to skirting and just be done with the bastard. Then I can paint the walls and shift all my stuff around and pull up the carpet that, from the smell, must be substantially older than Bruce Forsyth, and move it all back in and lie down on a new bed and wait ten years for the whole thing to fester disgracefully again.

Hooray for occasional bursts of constructive spontaneity! Not hooray for long stretches of unbreakable apathy!

(It’s lunchtime and I can smell bacon downstairs. Uh, bye.)

One Response to “Bibliocrastination”

  1. Laura March 22, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    In a handy turn of events, at the same time I bought On The Road for our impending CHALLENGE OF DOOM, I also purchased The Book Thief.
    Second installment of our Book Club? Capitalisation necessary.

Leave a Reply

